Daily Challenge - April

Followers

Friends


Wickless Candles and More!

Lovely Boutique! Check it out!
Showing posts with label Skating. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Skating. Show all posts

Monday, March 28, 2011

G-O-L-D!

Skating post again...

Emma had her VERY FIRST SKATING TEST DAY on Thursday...

We read the e-mail that listed all the times being tested and decided if she really wanted to do it.... She did, even though we had no clue what half the items were! *L*

We talked about the different medals you could be placed in, Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit. After much explanation of what 'Merit' was I felt satisfied that she would be alright not "placing" in this event.... As long as she had fun, that's all that mattered to me.

The day came and it happened to be one of my busiest days ever. I ran errands and met up with a long time friend before picking Zoe up from school.... We then rushed in to meet my Mom at the wedding dress shop in Sherwood Park where she ended up placing her orders (Geeeee!!)... We then grabbed lunch for 30 mins and rushed back into Leduc... On the way I had to call Andy (who was coming to see Emma do her test) and get him to pick up Emma as I was that behind schedule! *L* Thankfully I had thought to grab her skating bag before leaving the house in the morning, so we were good to go.

With 10 minutes before being on the ice Emma showed up and we got her changed, skates on, hair done and on the ice!

I didn't take photos during the test... I could have but decided that was the last thing Emma needed, the 'skating Mom'.... *L*

She came up after her test (which seemed to have gone well) and announced that she got gold....


GOLD!!!




Ha! I was so thrown off I had no clue what to say!! So instead, I bought her a root beer! *LOL*

I am so very proud of my big girl.... She's growing so quickly before my eyes.... Even though I'm with them 24-7 I feel like I'm missing out on so much! *L* Crazy right??!

Congratulations to my Emma.... A 'Gold' is exactly what she deserved after ll of her hard work! <3

Carnival!

I'll do my best to keep this post short as being Carnival Chair for the first time ever was..... a struggle. *L*


In the end it was worth it.... But only when I saw the excitement on the children's faces and how proud they were of themselves when they came off the ice and were telling their families about it afterwards!


I need to apologize for my photo qualities.... I was running around all day and realized that I should try to take a few photos of the girls somewhere in there.... *L* Being sick I didn't fully realize how bad it turned out! Ack!



Emma in 'Hit Me Baby One More Time'


Zoe in 'Stayin' Alive'



I love how well Emma did on her Spiral in her photo!! And Zoe is actually smiling in her photo!!! Geee!


For far better quality photos, please go here to see DEZ Photography's photos of our 'Rewind Through Time' Carnival.... Emma is Group 9 and Zoe is Group 14.


Farewell LFSC Carnival.... May we not have to deal with you again anytime in the near future! *L*

*You can click on my photos for a larger version!

Thursday, December 9, 2010

One Of "THOSE" Days!


You know when you have 'one of those days' and you look back to where it probably began.....

That was me ...

In the wee hours of the morning I decided to grab a shower... To which I slipped in (one foot in, one foot out) and bashed myself up pretty good....

Then later today my oldest does a full out belly flop on the ice at the beginning of her lesson.... I think her toe pick caught the ice and BAM! It looked painful.... She was down... After some tears and hugs she decided to get back on the ice and enjoy the class.

Near the end of class the same child was doing bunny hops and landed right.on.her.knee. The inside half. A-W-E-S-O-M-E. She came off the ice and needed an ice pack.... here's a lovely lump and walking is interesting.

I'm sure she'll be fine by tomorrow! ;)

AND THEN.....

Tyler is up North for work (North of Fort McMurray) and was supposed to start driving home tonight after work (so heading home for the long, slippery drive at around 7:30pm)..... And then I get the text...

"Flat Tire!!!"

WTH??!!

Turns out there's a HUGE nail jammed into the middle of his tire.... So he has to now find someone to follow him into Fort McMurray tomorrow morning (he did get the stupid, tiny spare on) to be in line for the doors to open at 7:30am.... Get the tire fixed (can't remember if he wanted to go back to camp while all of this was happening or whatnot) and THEN start heading home.

ONE.OF.THOSE.DAYS.

And it's only 8:17pm! Ack!